Black Sabbath Founding Members To Record New Album After 33 Years

November 14, 2011 by Amy Gold

Black Sabbath ca. 1980
Black Sabbath ca. 1980

On November 11, 2011, the original members of the famed British heavy metal band, Black Sabbath, announced that they have reunited to record a new album and embark on a world tour starting next year. This announcement was made at the Whisky A Go-Go where the band made its Los Angeles debut exactly 41 years ago to the day. Also present was seven-time Grammy winner Rick Rubin who will produce the band's new album.

The world tour will kick off with a stop as a headliner on June 10 of the 2012 Download Festival in Donington Park, England. The new album, as yet untitled, is slated to be released in the fall of 2012 through Vertigo/Universal Republic Records. It will be the band's ninth studio album recorded by all the original members and the first since "Never Say Die!" (1978).

Also announced was the launch of, the first-ever official Black Sabbath website.

Black Sabbath was formed in 1968 in Birmingham, England by Ozzy Osbourne (lead singer), Geezer Butler (bass), Tony Iommi (guitar), and Bill Ward (drums). The band's debut album, "Black Sabbath" (1970), is generally acknowledged as being the first-ever heavy metal music album, and that album, along with "Paranoid" (1970), were both largely responsible for creating the heavy metal genre. The latter album, which topped the UK Album Chart and reached #12 on the Billboard 200, includes Black Sabbath's best known songs, "Iron Man," "War Pigs," and the title track, "Paranoid."

In 1979, Osbourne split with Black Sabbath and went on to have a very successful solo career. Since then, the band has had many personnel changes, with some sporatic reunions by the original founding members. In 1997, Osbourne rejoined the band and they toured on and off through 2006. Over the years, Black Sabbath has had a huge following and has received numerous awards and accolades. This highly influential band was inducted into the UK Music Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005 and 2006, respectively.