Delta Rhythm Boys


The Delta Rhythm Boys were a highly acclaimed and veteran vocal R&B group formed at Langston University in Langston, OK that became famous during the mid 1940s. Their best known songs include their hit renditions of "It's Only A Paper Moon" (1945) and "(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons" (1946). Formed in 1934, the original lineup consisted of Carl Jones, Traverse Crawford, Otha Lee Gaines, and Kelsey Pharr, with many personnel changes over the years.

Best known songs (with years) include:

  • It's Only A Paper Moon (1945)
  • The Honeydripper (1945)
  • (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons (1946)
  • Just A-Sittin' And A-Rockin' (1946)

Pop charts debut year: 1945

Years active: 1934-1987

Genres: R&B, jazz, gospel

Labels: Decca


Disclosure: The following links will take you to various online merchants outside of that sell recordings and other merchandise for the performing artist featured on this page. Please note that these are referral or affiliate links from which may receive, at no additional cost to you, a commission if you should make any purchases through them. CDs, Vinyl, & more

Delta Rhythm Boys

Search 25 million records at MusicStack Vinyl Records, LPs, CDs and Rare Albums. Out of Print Music Albums and Imports

Delta Rhythm Boys

Share this page on Facebook Share this page on Twitter Share this page on Pinterest