The Byrds - Songs


The Byrds were a highly acclaimed and influential folk rock band that became famous during the mid 1960s. Formed in 1964, the original lineup consisted of Roger McGuinn (lead guitar, vocals), Gene Clark (tambourine, vocals), Michael Clarke (drums), David Crosby (rhythm guitar, vocals), and Chris Hillman (bass guitar, vocals). Their signature sound came from their close group harmonies and pioneering use of jangly 12-string guitars, and they were also among the first to incorporate elements of psychedelia, raga rock, and country rock as their style evolved. The Byrds best known songs include such era-defining classics as the soaring "Mr. Tambourine Man" (1965), the ecclesiastical "Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)" (1965), and the glorious "Eight Miles High" (1966).

David Crosby left in 1967 to form Crosby, Stills & Nash, and The Byrds had many other personnel changes up through their split in 1973. The band's numerous honors and accolades included being inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1991.


Disclosure: The following links will take you to various online merchants outside of that sell recordings and other merchandise for the performing artist featured on this page. Please note that these are referral or affiliate links from which may receive, at no additional cost to you, a commission if you should make any purchases through them.


The Byrds perform "Mr. Tambourine Man" on The Ed Sullivan Show (December 12, 1965).

Available on the following DVDs: The Very Best of The Ed Sullivan Show Vol. 2; Ed Sullivan Presents - Rock n' Roll Revolution; Rock n' Roll Classics - 7 DVD Set; (more)


To listen to a song clip, click any song title that has a speaker icon. This will take you to a list of links to CD and/or MP3 product pages from one or more online merchants that have sound samples.

The Byrds

Jump to:
Previous Artist | Next Artist