Deep Purple - Songs


Deep Purple is a highly acclaimed and pioneering English heavy metal/hard rock band that became famous beginning in the late 1960s. Their best known songs worldwide include "Hush" (1968), "Kentucky Woman" (1968), and the epic "Smoke On The Water" (1973), the latter famously inspired by the 1971 fire at the Montreux Casino in Switzerland that took place during a Frank Zappa concert.

Formed in London in 1968, the original lineup consisted of Ritchie Blackmore (guitars), Jon Lord (keyboards, occasional backing vocals), Ian Paice (drums), Nick Simper (bass), and lead singer Rod Evans, with a number of personnel changes over the years. Evans and Simper left in 1969 and were replaced by Ian Gillan (lead vocals, harmonica, percussion) and Roger Glover (bass, keyboards, occasional backing vocals), respectively. The current lineup is a quintet that includes three original and early members: Gillan, Glover, and Paice.

Deep Purple was named the world's loudest band in the 1975 Guinness Book of World Records for a 1972 concert at London's Rainbow Theatre. Their numerous honors and accolades include being inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2016.



Disclosure: The following links will take you to various online merchants outside of that sell recordings and other merchandise for the performing artist featured on this page. Please note that these are referral or affiliate links from which may receive, at no additional cost to you, a commission if you should make any purchases through them.


To listen to a song clip, click any song title that has a speaker icon. This will take you to a list of links to CD and/or MP3 product pages from one or more online merchants that have sound samples.

Deep Purple

Jump to:
Previous Artist | Next Artist